Posted by: Charles Maitland | Wednesday 26 April, 2006

Wild Card MDX Searching

Chris Webb does it again!

I had a tricky problem where I needed to execute a wild card search against a dimension member. I was just about to send Chris an email when I Googled up the very answer from 3 years ago as posted by the very man!.

http://www.dbforums.com/archive/index.php/t-677973.html

PS Chris If you read this can you email me – User Management Console for SQL Analysis Server 2005 will be ready for external feedback as soon as I can generalise it, soon . 

Responses

  1. First of all great articles.i am new to mdx and have an issue with using wildcards in mdx. can you show a example how to use wildcards to filter data in a mdx query.

    for Ex: some thing like this i know this is not valid in MDX , how to achieve something like this. I cant use VBA options inside MDX as SAP BW doesnt support that.

    SELECT
    [Measures].MEMBERS ON COLUMNS,
    FILTER([USERNAME].MEMBERS, [USERNAME].[USERNAME] = “*SAN*” ) ON ROWS
    FROM [$CUBE_1]

  2. Hi there would you mind letting me know which hosting company you’re working with? I’ve loaded your blog
    in 3 completely different internet browsers and I must say this blog loads a lot quicker then most.

    Can you recommend a good web hosting provider at a reasonable price?
    Thanks a lot, I appreciate it!

  3. I appreciate the information on your websites. Appreciate it!

  4. My spouse and I stumbled over here by a different web address and thought I may as well
    check things out. I like what I see so now i am following you.

    Look forward to going over your web page yet again.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

