Posted by: Charles Maitland | Thursday 19 January, 2006

Project Description

As my internet connection has just died it occoured to me that as I plan on blogging my progress on this project I should say what it is all about.The customer has a finance system and a payroll system and they want to be able to devolve budget planning down to a lower management level. This means that finance data has to be disemenated to about 800 users.The plan is to extract the data from their existing systems into a data warehouse, OLAP Cube it and then report on it using Reporting Services.There is a long term strategy to then allow users to write back spending predictions probably using Excel.As I mentioned they have about 5 or 6 Million transaction from their finance system so not too big a system.They have agreed to use SQL Server 2005 and so I am jumping in at the deep end. I fear a steep learning curve but also a good test of how easy they have really made it!More as I find itCharlie

Leave a Reply

Categories

