Posted by: Charles Maitland | Monday 15 May, 2006

Reporting Services Forms Authentication

A while back I posted a link that should have shown how to get Reporting Services to work in a Forms Authentication mode.

As the main link was to MSDN and seemed a valid and useful link. Yesterday I got a comment from Nazia saying that he could not get it to work. This prompted me to read further and one thing that came out is that for Forms Authentication you have to write your own security extensions. This is documented BUT and it is a BIG BUT, it seems that this is not available in SQL Server 2000 standard edition, well so say the 3 comments on the source posting.

This is IMHO as daft as it gets.

I have not been able to find out the position for SQL Server 2005. This page talks of Advanced Auditing, Authentication, and Authorization being available for all the versions but that is too broad a generalisation for me to trust, I have spent a fruitless couple of hours trying to uncover any documentation to say which versions of SQL Server 2000 or 2005 support custom authentication.

Unfortunately I am not in the office this week to get hold of the different versions to test. As I run Developer edition which is functionally equivalent to Enterprise this proves nothing!

The hunt continues

Responses

  1. I got the SSRS Forms Authtication sample to work from the microsoft site. But only the C# version and not the VB version. I am now trying to get it to work with my database of users and am not having any luck at all. I can not even get SSRS to see my db. If anyone can give me a idea as to where to look for a fix, it would be greatly appreciated.

  2. I have just got The Samples Forms Auth to work by tracking down all connection string entries (there were 3 I found) and setting them to SQL Authentication. The Sample is using integrated security which was causing me obscure errors.


Leave a Reply

Categories

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

