Posted by: Charles Maitland | Monday 3 July, 2006

Recovering a killed Reporting Services Web Site

Last week in a rush to mock up some screen shots of a web application for a demo I made the critical mistake of deploying to the root of my web site. This destroyed my Reporting Services virtual directories!

Did I panic – YES I did.

I tried to reinstall Reporting Services, repair it all sorts of things but all I kept getting was an install error saying that my IIS Meta base was invalid.

Fortunately I had a VPC image that I could use but it was close.

I think that in fact my panic was a bit unfounded and my rushed attempts to fix it probably made it worse.

What I have subsequently found is that there is the ability to recreate the web directories using the Reporting Services Configuration tool.

What I don’t know is if this will successfully associate the new sites with the existing database or if there are additional steps needed. If anyone does know then let me know, otherwise I will have to wait until I have time to deliberately pooch my machine!

Leave a Reply

Categories

