Posted by: Charles Maitland | Tuesday 18 March, 2008

Arthur C. Clarke has died

I have not found any better words to describe this loss than those posted on , of all places, Slashdot

The biggest addition to society that Clarke, and all other science fiction writers, have added is not in the works of fiction themselves, but the spark of imagination infused in those reading it. Some will take that spark and build their lives around it turning fiction to fact.

The world will miss him

 

RIP the man who gave me my dreams.

Edit His obituary in his own words

If I have given you delight
By aught that I have done,
Let me lie quiet in that night
Which shall be yours anon:
And for that little, little span
The dead are borne in mind
Seek not to question other than
The books I leave behin

Kipling
Lie quiet, Arthur for delight you have given me

Leave a Reply

Categories

