Posted by: Charles Maitland | Sunday 8 November, 2009

Remembrance Sunday Poem

Ok, I know this is totally off topic but this poem from User Friendly AKA J.D. Frazer struck a very deep cord.

You never knew me
as you grew up on that farm
watched the clouds roll by
dreamed of life and love.

You never knew me
when you swore to fight
and kissed your last goodbye
to those who waved and cried.

You never knew me
when they stormed in,
shards of dark metal
quivering as they cut.

You never knew me
as you huddled in the grime
cold and so alone
wishing for the sun.

You never knew me
baker that you were
carpenter or farmer
not a soldier born.

You never knew me
but you cried out for freedom
and defied the coming dark
even as you fell.

And as I kneel by your cross
I realize that I never knew you
but I know you did this for me
even though you never knew me.

Copyright © 2000 J.D. Frazer

 

 

Thank you Father.

Leave a Reply

Categories

