Posted by: Charles Maitland | Friday 20 November, 2009

Sorry about the testing. Geo-Tagging at work

If anyone has been seeing any strange testing posts in their feeds, my apologies.

I was examining the new geo-tagging feature that WordPress have turned on.

Unfortunately is of no real use. When I tried the “Auto Detect” feature it put me in Lambeth, London, which is strange as my IP is registered to my ISP which is based in Sheffield 200 miles away.

When I set it correctly I found that it does not remember where I am so any new posts have to be manually reset and this also means that posting using Live Writer does not pick up the location.

Its a nice idea but needs a LOT of work.

Leave a Reply

Categories

